Rules for main forums
- Be nice
- No advertisement
- No events
- No fundraisers
- No topics asking for votes
- Only posts related to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu
IPJJF?
5 year(s) ago • 1966 views • 11 replies
Black belt 4th degreeVerified
5 year(s) ago
Never heard about this one before, does anyone know if they've actually hosted any competitions etc.?
https://www.ipjjf.com/
https://www.ipjjf.com/
Black belt 2nd degreeVerified
5 year(s) ago
It's not free. lol
Black beltVerified
5 year(s) ago
Wow, I can buy myself stripes there! Way cheaper than IBJJF too!
Looks quite suspect. When you click on their registered schools it takes you to cbjjp.com schools.
Looks quite suspect. When you click on their registered schools it takes you to cbjjp.com schools.
Edited 5 year(s) ago
Black beltVerified
5 year(s) ago
Wow, I can buy myself stripes there! Way cheaper than IBJJF too! Looks quite suspect. When you click on their registered schools it takes you to cbjjp.com schools.
The cbjjp.com website just seems to be the Brazilian/Portuguese version of the same organization. Their main page even notes this:
"Know Also the CBJJP"
It's likely the CBJJP was created as an NGB while IPJJF is created to have the role of an international body (consider the relationship between https://cbjj.com.br/ and https://ibjjf.com/ for example). It still does look a bit suspect, but having two orgs (one International and one Brazilian) isn't what strikes me as weird about it. What's weird to me is it lists 4 events for 2020 that are all "Coming Soon" and their previous events (https://www.ipjjf.com/pre[...]ous-events) are rather sparse. It seems to want to position itself to compete with the IBJJF/CBJJ but without the scale of tournaments.
"Know Also the CBJJP"
It's likely the CBJJP was created as an NGB while IPJJF is created to have the role of an international body (consider the relationship between https://cbjj.com.br/ and https://ibjjf.com/ for example). It still does look a bit suspect, but having two orgs (one International and one Brazilian) isn't what strikes me as weird about it. What's weird to me is it lists 4 events for 2020 that are all "Coming Soon" and their previous events (https://www.ipjjf.com/pre[...]ous-events) are rather sparse. It seems to want to position itself to compete with the IBJJF/CBJJ but without the scale of tournaments.
Black belt 4th degreeVerified
5 year(s) ago
Wow, I can buy myself stripes there! Way cheaper than IBJJF too! Looks quite suspect. When you click on their registered schools it takes you to cbjjp.com schools.
I agree.. looks like a scam
Black beltVerified
5 year(s) ago
The cbjjp.com website just seems to be the Brazilian/Portuguese version of the same organization. Their main page even notes this: 'Know Also the CBJJP' It's likely the CBJJP was created as an NGB while IPJJF is created to have the role of an international body (consider the relationship between https://cbjj.com.br/ and https://ibjjf.com/ for example). It still does look a bit suspect, but having two orgs (one International and one Brazilian) isn't what strikes me as weird about it. What's weird to me is it lists 4 events for 2020 that are all 'Coming Soon' and their previous events (https://www.ipjjf.com/pre[...]ous-events) are rather sparse. It seems to want to position itself to compete with the IBJJF/CBJJ but without the scale of tournaments.
Thanks for clearing that up. The security guy in me is still on alert though ... registering different domains for the same organization vs using subdomains, hmmm.
Black belt 4th degreeVerified
5 year(s) ago
Just whatsapp photo of promotion and send some money, then they'll mail a diploma. Sounds like a dodgy back alley version of Beltchecker :D
Black belt 4th degreeVerified
Black belt 4th degreeVerified
Black belt 3rd degreeVerified
5 year(s) ago
It may be small but its hard to argue with all the high ranking members who have rank recognized by them. One post from a 7th degree Black Belt who posted his pics of his certificates, basically said he gladly paid 150.00 vs 2,000.00 he would have to pay with IBJJF and he is friends with Carlos Jr. I would imagine 8th and 9th Degree probably get their certificates for free due to the amount of 8th and 9th Degree Black Belts they have, which is a lot. Unless its proven to be a diploma mill, they only recognize rank and don't promote as far as I can tell. Its just another organization for someone to join if the wish. I think the website looks a little off because of translation.



